Appalachian College of Pharmacy

Project Lead:
Susan L. Mayhew, PharmD, BCNSP, FASHP
Dean and Chief Academic Officer
Phone: (276) 498-5201

Susan L. Mayhew has been with the Appalachian College of Pharmacy since its inception and serves as the Dean of the College. Dr. Mayhew has also served the College as Associate Dean for Pharmacy Practice Programs, the Chair of the Pharmacy Practice Department and Professor. She completed her Pre-Pharmacy coursework at East Tennessee State University and then attended the University of Tennessee, earning her Doctor of Pharmacy degree in 1993. Dr. Mayhew completed residency training specializing in nutrition support at the University of Maryland Medical System in Baltimore, Maryland.

Project Summary

Appalachian College of Pharmacy is awarded $221,700 to establish new collaborative practice models between pharmacists and primary care providers in existing primary care practices to expand primary care services, medication and disease management in federally qualified health centers in Southwest Virginia.

The purpose is to augment the health care workforce to allow primary care providers to care for more patients. Pharmacy residents and students will practice and train in this model thereby producing a pipeline of trained clinicians for sustainability of the practice model. Primary care services provided by pharmacists will be billable through the primary care practice and result in financial sustainability of the practice model over time.

Appalachian College of Pharmacy
1060 Dragon Road
Oakwood, VA 24631
Phone: (276) 498-5211

Find Local Support

Blue Ridge Region AHEC – Shenandoah Valley

Capital Region AHEC – Richmond Metro and surrounding areas

Eastern Virginia Region AHEC – Southeast Virginia and Peninsula

Northern Virginia Region AHEC – Northern Virginia

Rappahannock Region AHEC – Northern Neck, Fredericksburg, and Middle Peninsula

South Central Region AHEC – Lynchburg, Danville, and surrounding area

Southside Region AHEC – South of Richmond

Southwest Virginia Region AHEC – Roanoke Valley and West